Thursday, 15 August 2013

***Review** Pride by Penny Jordan




Released: May 1st 2011
Publisher: Harlequin UK
Series: No but there's three books in one
Format: Digital ARC
Source: From Netgalley

Author Website: Penny Jordan

Many thanks to Netgalley and the Publisher for my review copy, this is in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Synopsis:

Dark family secrets A missing heir The scandal is about to break... Even the most powerful are touched by tragedy. Reeling from the death of their wastrel, playboy half-brother, the Leopardi family must find his illegitimate child. Rocco believes that Julie Simmonds is merely a gold-digger until he sees how truly she cares for his tiny nephew. But then it's proved that the child is not the missing heir... Alessandro doesn't employ women. So when he finds Leonora piloting his private jet, he's furious. And soon she's distracting him from his duty to find the missing Leopardi. When Falcon finally tracks down his late half-brother's child, he's appalled by the circumstances of his conception. Falcon will do anything to protect Annie, his nephew's mother. Even marry her... For fans of Danielle Steel and Barbara Taylor Bradford.




My Review:

I have been having a spell of YA books and thought I'd pick up something a little more grown up.  This has been sat on my shelf for a little while and I don't honestly know why I waited that long.  I think it ticked all the boxes in the swoony hunky men department.  Three stories all rolled into one book, all about different brothers of the Leopardi family.  Each story is sort of entwined and follows on in time from each other.

At times yes I did feel it was a little cheesy and predictable and sometimes I did get a bit frustrated at the characters.  I just wanted to shout out loud and them and give them a bit of a shake up.  For some seriously intelligent people they could not see past their noses, all it takes is a bit of communication.  But I guess it must have hit a note as I actually cared about what happened to the characters.

All the stories were equal in my eyes, I could not pin point my favourite.  I did enjoy them and I would certainly seek out more books from this author.  Nice easy writing style and a very comfortable light read for a bit of sheer escapism.  I did get to learn a bit more about Sicily, somewhere I would love to visit, thank you Penny Jordan that's one country added to my holiday list.

If I had to gripe at one thing is that there were no more books in this series.  I would have loved to see where each character would end up in the future.


 photo 4-star.png

Overview:
I did enjoy this book and I would say it is what you are looking for if you want a bit of escapism with romance elements.

My Thoughts on the Cover:
I like it, especially as it is simple but effective.  The purple dress and writing stands out nicely.

0 comments:

Post a Comment

Please leave a comment :D I'd love to know your thoughts!!!

 
Blog Design By Sweet Dreams Design using the Sweet Summer kit by Kay Miller Designs.